logo
Hepatitis C - Class Actions Settlement
HomeSearchContact UsFrançaisPrivacy

Claimants:
Essential Information
Claimants:
Additional Information
Claimants:
Loss of Income / Loss of Support / Loss of Services
Periodic Re-Assessment by the Courts
Appeals
Documents
Forms
Contacts and Links
Annual Reports
Administrator


FAQ: Uninsured Treatments or Medications

Uninsured Treatments or Medications

The cost of HCV related drugs and drug therapy is high. Can I get compensation for such costs?

The Administrator will reimburse you for the uninsured costs associated with HCV related medications. Please complete the GEN 3 Form to make such a claim.

Private insurance, an employee benefit package, a provincial healthcare plan or a provincial disability program may also cover these costs, in whole or in part. The Administrator will reimburse you for the difference or balance remaining - in other words any amount that is not covered by the aforementioned insurance or health plans. Before filing a Claim with the Administrator, you must first file a Claim with your other insurer. Once they have processed your Claim, you can forward your Claim to the Hepatitis C Claims Centre for reimbursement of any uninsured portion of the costs.

As always, please submit copies of your receipts with the GEN 3 Form. This Form is sent to all Approved Class Members, once the Full and Final Release of an Approved Class Member is on file, with the exception of Claims on behalf of HCV Infected Persons who died before January 1, 1999.

Can I still make claims for Uninsured Treatments or Medications purchased outside of Canada?

If the Claim is for medications purchased outside of Canada, you must include a letter of explanation. As always, you should get approval from your treating physician in Canada, and include your receipts.

According to Section 4.06 of Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B), "if the costs are incurred outside of Canada, the amount of compensation cannot exceed the lesser of the amount of compensation payable if the costs had been incurred in the Province or Territory where the claimant resides or is deemed to reside and the actual costs."

For example, if the amount is lower in the Province or Territory of residence in Canada, then you will be reimbursed for the amount it would have cost in Canada. However, if the amount is lower outside of Canada, then you will be reimbursed for the amount it cost you outside of Canada.

Please indicate the currency used, when costs are incurred outside of Canada.

Index of Questions
Top

Logo
Hépatite C - Règlement des recours collectifs
AccueilRechercheContactez-nousEnglishPrivacy

Demandeurs :
Renseignements essentiels
Demandeurs : Renseignements supplémentaires
Demandeurs :
Perte de revenu / Perte de soutien / Perte des services domestiques
Réévaluation périodique par les tribunaux
Renvois
Documents
Formulaires
Contacts et liens

Rapports annuels
L'administrateur


FAQ : Traitements ou médicaments non assurés

Traitements ou médicaments non assurés

Le coût des médicaments et des traitements reliés au VHC est élevé. Puis-je obtenir un remboursement de tels frais?

L'Administrateur vous remboursera les frais non assurés de médicaments engagés au titre du VHC. Veuillez remplir le formulaire GEN 3 pour faire une telle réclamation.

Une assurance privée, un régime de prestations aux employés, un régime de soins de santé provincial ou un programme provincial de retour au travail peuvent également couvrir ces frais, en tout ou en partie. L'Administrateur vous remboursera la différence ou le solde - en d'autres mots, tout montant non couvert par les régimes d'assurance ou de santé mentionnés. Avant de soumettre une demande de réclamation à l'Administrateur, vous devez d'abord présenter une demande de réclamation à vos autres assureurs. Lorsqu'il aura traité votre réclamation, vous pouvez présenter votre réclamation au Centre des réclamations relatives à l'hépatite C pour un remboursement de toute partie des frais non assurés.

Comme toujours, veuillez joindre des copies de vos reçus au formulaire GEN 3. Nous faisons parvenir ce formulaire à tous les membres reconnus des recours collectifs, lorsque nous avons en dossier la quittance totale et définitive d'un membre reconnu des recours collectifs, à l'exception des réclamations au nom de personnes infectées par le VHC décédées avant le 1er janvier 1999

Puis-je toujours faire des réclamations pour des traitements ou médicaments non assurés achetés à l'extérieur du Canada?

Si la réclamation porte sur des médicaments achetés à l'extérieur du Canada, vous devez inclure une lettre d'explication. Comme d'habitude, vous devez obtenir l'approbation de votre médecin traitant au Canada et inclure vos reçus.

Aux termes de l'article 4.06 du Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B), « si les frais ont été engagés à l'extérieur du Canada, le montant de l'indemnisation ne peut dépasser le moindre du montant de l'indemnisation payable si les frais avaient été engagés dans la province ou le territoire où le réclamant réside ou est réputé résider ou du montant réel des frais ».

Par exemple, si le montant est plus bas dans la province ou le territoire de résidence au Canada, on vous remboursera alors ce montant. Cependant, si le montant est plus bas à l'extérieur du Canada, on vous remboursera alors ce montant.

Veuillez préciser la monnaie utilisée pour les frais engagés à l'extérieur du Canada.

Table des matières
Début