logo
Hepatitis C - Class Actions Settlement
HomeSearchContact UsFrançaisPrivacy

Claimants:
Essential Information
Claimants:
Additional Information
Claimants:
Loss of Income / Loss of Support / Loss of Services
Periodic Re-Assessment by the Courts
Appeals
Documents
Forms
Contacts and Links
Annual Reports
Administrator


Periodic Re-Assessment by the Courts

Section 7.03(1) of the Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B) provides that the Joint Committee must apply to the Courts to determine whether restrictions on certain payments should be increased or decreased or removed in whole or in part.

Three restrictions to be considered include

1. The $5,000 holdback that is applied to the fixed payment payable for disease level 2 found in section 4.01(1)(b) of the Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B).

2. The 70% limitation found in sections 4.02 (loss of income) of the Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B) and 6.01 (loss of support) of the Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B).

3. The $75,000 limitation in sections 4.02 (loss of income) of the Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B) and 6.01 (loss of support) of the Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B).

First Re-Assessment Completed in June 2002

The first of several periodic re-assessments was completed in June 2002. Detailed expert reports coupled with expert testimony and the Joint Committee’s recommendation were presented to the three Courts having jurisdiction over the 1986-1990 Hepatitis C Settlement. After a thorough review of the material, the Courts decided that the $5,000 holdback is to be paid to claimants so entitled.

Ontario Court Reasons for Decision – July 11, 2002
British Columbia Court Reasons for Judgment – July 12, 2002
Quebec Court Reasons for Judgment – July 12, 2002 (in French)

See FAQ

Second Re-Assessment Completed in October 2004

The second periodic re-assessment was completed October 19, 2004. Detailed expert reports coupled with expert testimony and the Joint Committee’s recommendation were presented to the three Courts having jurisdiction over the 1986-1990 Hepatitis C Settlement. After a thorough review of the material, the Courts decided to remove the 70% limitation found in sections 4.02 (loss of income) of the Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B) and 6.01 (loss of support) of the Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B) and to increase the $75,000 limitation in sections 4.02 (loss of income) of the Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B) and 6.01 (loss of support) of the Transfused Plan (Schedule A) and Hemophiliac Plan (Schedule B) to $300,000.


British Columbia Court Decision - July 2, 2004
Quebec Court Decision - July 7, 2004 (in French)
Ontario Court Decision -October 19, 2004


See FAQ

Logo
Hépatite C - Règlement des recours collectifs
AccueilRechercheContactez-nousEnglishPrivacy

Demandeurs :
Renseignements essentiels
Demandeurs : Renseignements supplémentaires
Demandeurs :
Perte de revenu / Perte de soutien / Perte des services domestiques
Réévaluation périodique par les tribunaux
Renvois
Documents
Formulaires
Contacts et liens

Rapports annuels
L'administrateur


Réévaluation périodique par les tribunaux

Le paragraphe 7.03(1) du Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B) stipule que le Comité conjoint doit demander aux tribunaux si les restrictions de certains paiements devraient être majorées ou réduites ou supprimées en totalité ou en partie.

Il faut tenir compte des trois restrictions suivantes :

1. Le report de 5 000 $ (montant retenu) qui s'applique au paiement fixe payable pour le niveau de maladie 2 indiqué au paragraphe 4.01(1)(b) du Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B).

2. La restriction de 70 % indiqué au paragraphe 4.02 (perte de revenu) du Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B) et au paragraphe 6.01 (perte de soutien) du Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B).

3. La restriction de 75 000 $ indiquée aux paragraphes 4.02 (perte de revenu) du Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B) et 6.01 (perte de soutien) du Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B).

Première réévaluation complétée en juin 2002

La première de plusieurs réévaluations périodiques a été complétée en juin 2002. Des rapports d'experts accompagnés de témoignages d'experts et les recommandations du Comité conjoint ont été présentés aux trois tribunaux ayant compétence relativement à la Convention de règlement relative à l'hépatite C (1986-1990). Après une réévaluation détaillée des documents, les tribunaux ont décidé que le montant retenu de 5 000 $ serait payé aux réclamants admissibles :

Motifs de la décision du tribunal de l'Ontario - le 11 juillet 2002 (Version anglaise)
Motifs de la décision du tribunal de la Colombie-Britannique - le 12 juillet 2002 (Version anglaise)
Motifs de la décision du tribunal du Québec - le 12 juillet 2002

Voir FAQ

Deuxième réévaluation complétée en octobre 2004

La deuxième réévaluation périodique a été complétée le 19 octobre 2004. Des rapports d'experts accompagnés de témoignages d'experts et les recommandations du Comité conjoint ont été présentés aux trois tribunaux ayant compétence relativement à la Convention de règlement relative à l'hépatite C (1986-1990). Après une réévaluation détaillée des documents, les tribunaux ont décidé d’enlever la restriction de 70 % indiqué au paragraphe 4.02 (perte de revenu) du Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B) et au paragraphe 6.01 (perte de soutien) du Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B) et d’augmenter la restriction de 75 000 $ indiquée aux paragraphes 4.02 (perte de revenu) du Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B) et 6.01 (perte de soutien) d u Régime à l'intention des transfusés (Annexe A) et du Régime à l'intention des hémophiles (Annexe B) à 300 000 $.

Motif de la décision du tribunal de la Colombie-Britannique – le 2 juillet 2004 (Version anglaise)
Motif de la décision du tribunal du Québec – le 7 juillet 2004
Motif de la décision du tribunal de l’Ontario – le 19 octobre 2004 (Version anglaise)




Voir FAQ

Début